Sheriff: Robert E. Fyock
Chief Deputy: Ryan S. Hill
Indiana County Courthouse
825 Philadelphia St.
Indiana, PA 15701-3973
Hours: Mon-Fri 8am-4pm
Firearm License Unit
Mon-Fri, 9 am to 2 pm
Phone: (724) 465.3930
Fax: (724) 465.3937
Gun Permit Information
Pennsylvania law requires the Sheriff of Indiana County to process all applications by county residents for a license to carry firearms.
New applicants must include name, address and phone number of two (2) references that are not family members. We request the references be Indiana County residents. If they are not available, please use persons with reputable character that are familiar with you and are able to answer questions about your personality and background.
Licenses are issued to all those who qualify, based on a background investigation done by the Sheriffs Office through the Pennsylvania State Police Instant Check System (PICS). Once an application for license to carry is filed, the Sheriff has 45 days in which to do the investigation and notify the applicant. The license is valid for 5 years. The Sheriff has the ability to revoke the license at any time for misuse.
All applicants are required to have a valid Pennsylvania Driver's License or Pennsylvania Photo Identification Card with a current address and must pay a fee of $20.00 (Personal Check, Money Order and/or Cash) is accepted at the time the application is submitted.
The Sheriff also licenses all firearms dealers in Indiana County. For more information on firearms licensing and safety please call our office at 724.465.3930
- Click on the link below.
- Print the application.
- Fill out the form completely.
- Call 724.465.3930 to schedule an appointment. Appointments will be made between 9:00am - 2:00pm Monday thru Friday. We are not able to accept walk-ins.
- Sign the form then bring it into the sheriff's office with your payment.
NOTE: The person requesting the permit MUST bring the application in person.
Opening the application requires Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Gun Laws vary by state. Go to the National Rifle Association to check the gun laws where you live.
When / If an applicant is denied, they have a right to challenge by submitting a PICS Challenge Form SP4-197.
State law now provides that the Challenge form must be submitted to the PICS Challenge Unit within 30 days of the date the individual is denied. No personal information will be discussed by phone.
Challenges are not accepted from applicants who cancel their background check prior to completion of the transaction by Pennsylvania Instant Check System (PICS). Only those individuals who have been denied or undetermined by a representative of PICS may submit a challenge form.